top of page

Blog Entry #11

Last Friday I had an interview with Bud Melton, an urban pedestrian mobility expert. His work was very interesting because it is a very different aspect of my field. Part of his job is to promote sustainable development and reduce pollution by creating trails people can walk or bike on instead of driving. He has created many successful trails and walkways throughout DFW and is very accomplished in his field. I want to learn more about the architectural side of urban ecology, and my interview with Bud got me off to a great start. He gave me several contacts I should interview and taught me about his job. Urban planning is very different than science or outreach, it seems to be almost like a form of art. Plans have to be created in a way that is visually pleasing, yet is also very efficient and durable. I felt like I had a lot in common with Bud Melton, and we may also have similar interests regarding careers. I have decided not to not rule out urban planning until I can learn more about it and the tasks required in the job. I am going to continue scheduling interviews with people working on the Trinity River Corridor project in order to further my knowledge in this area of the field.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page