top of page

Blog Entry #23

Last week I went door-to-door in Dallas handing out flyers advertising my final product and looking for volunteers. The biggest concern people have over urban trees is maintenance; they want to know that they will not have to water it or pay for upkeep. The Texas Trees foundation has addressed this and waters the trees for the first two summers until they are established.

I also saw the destruction from the past week's storms on the Connemara Meadow Preserve. There has been serious erosion as well as a lot of trash washed in by the stream. The erosion can be used to make a case for native grasses, as I have read many times that they are really good at keeping soil intact. Since their destruction in the 19th and 20th century, middle America has lost several feet of topsoil due to erosion. The abundance of garbage in waterways is something I have seen a lot, and it's quite sad. I should look into organizing garbage pickups in the future to help solve the problem on a small scale.

My time volunteering and with Texas Trees has helped me learn a lot about different problems and ways to solve them, and I am excited to work to solve them and continue to learn more.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page