top of page

Blog Entry # 30

I have spent more time reflecting in what I want to say in my final speech. As I look back, my biggest change over the course of the year is my acquisition of courage. After going on a dozen interviews, I have developed networking skills and have already talked to multiple members of the UT Austin faculty so I will be well prepared to seek out opportunities going into next year. Additionally, I have started volunteering with an organization that interested me and also gotten a job. My interview skills have grown as well and just last week I won a scholarship after a very successful interview.

I have also learned a lot about my field. The interviews helped me gain a broad knowledge while my mentor has helped me gain a lot of project-specific skills. I now know enough to understand the natural history of Texas, and I know hoe to work on both urban forestry and urban planting projects in general thanks to my research.

Over the next week I will incorporate all of this into my speech so my friends and family can learn about what I have learned and how I have grown during my year in ISM, as well as my plans for the future.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page