top of page

Blog Entry #12

I had interviews with several of the Baylor University environmental science faculty last week. I learned a lot about their research regarding contaminants in our watersheds. They study the usual suspects such as heavy metals, but also microplastics. Microplastics are microscopic pieces of plastic are eroded off of garbage, enter the water, and are consumed by fish, harming them. The faculty’s research was very interesting to me because it showed the extent to which humans have an impact on the ecosystem. I learned that urban ecology will be more difficult than I had originally believed, because of the many ways in which humans alter the environment. Measures will have to be taken in order to limit microplastics, and also to mitigate the many other environmental problems humans can cause. I also solidified my view that research is not for me. As I stated in earlier blog entries, research scientists dedicate their entire career to a very narrow focus of issues. Additionally, they do not have a lot of contact with the general public, they tend discuss their work mainly with other scientists. The work done by private nonprofit groups is much more accommodating to my personality and general career goals.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page