top of page

Blog Entry #14

I got a mentor last week! Matt Grubisich is the director of operations in the Texas Trees Foundation. I hope to learn more about urban forestry and what it entails. There are several things I want to learn during my mentorship this year, however the list may change. My main goals are to:

1. Learn what constitutes an “urban forest” and what their benefits are.Learn how to find support and funding for a project.

2. Learn how to care for plants in an urban setting.

3. Compare the benefits of trees to those of other plants, such as shrubs and grasses.Develop a better idea of what I want to do in my career.

4. Make connections throughout Texas that will help me in my career.

Like I have said earlier, I am very interested in creating natural areas in cities. I chose Texas Trees over urban wildlife biology, because , as a private organization, they have far more flexibility and a greater capacity to cause change. They will be more ambitious and likely move faster than any public organization, helping me follow my ambitious goals and visions. Additionally, they already have several interns and are definitely prepared to give me as much experience as possible.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page