top of page

Blog Entry #16

During last week's mentor visit and meeting with Taylor Guynes and Marc Beaudoin I learned about the importance of research. Texas Trees does a lot of value estimating for various trees and plantings as well as the Urban Heat Island Study and others. The results of the research is then presented to various organizations and Texas Trees offers suggestions and completes projects to mitigate a problem or increase value of a property.

A lot of the job consists of measuring trees, checking for size, health, position, and a number of other factors. This does not interest me as much as other parts of Texas Trees's work, but I need to get some field experience before I can really decide what interests me.

I also learned that Matt Grubisich, the director of operations at Texas Trees, is also a member of the Roulette City Council. This reinforces what I learned earlier about the importance of public relations. Matt has been very successful at Texas Trees, and political success shows that he is good at publicizing.

Tomorrow I am going to the tree farm at Richland College. Getting to see the ecological aspect of the job excites me. I do not know much about growing trees and I am eager to see what it entails.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page