top of page

Blog Entry #18

My final product, pending local approval, is a tree planting project along Ramsey Avenue in Dallas. There is an empty dirt space between the sidewalk and the street and Texas Trees is planting these areas throughout South Dallas. I have been given a huge degree of autonomy in my project and I am responsible for researching tree species as well as picking sites for each individual tree. I plan on spending this week researching tree species. I am looking to provide maximum wildlife and aesthetic value while picking species that will increase Dallas's tree diversity.

I am also in the process of researching six questions I have been given. Several of them pertain to the benefits of urban trees, but my favorite is:

  • How can we draw high schoolers into green industries?

I am not sure how to answer this, but I have some ideas for getting high schoolers to help green industries.

We need to try to reach out to environmental clubs throughout DFW and offer them service hours for their volunteer work. As a high school student, I know how important volunteer work is for college apps. I might try to create a Texas Trees high school volunteer recruiting program once my final product is well underway.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page